Friday, 25 February 2011

Films: February 2011

So far this month we've watched:

Peeping Tom (1960)
The Searchers (1956)
Picnic at Hanging Rock (1975)
The Red Shoes (1948)

A month of absolute classics. March might be more contemporary.

Friday, 12 November 2010

Kris Needs presents ... Dirty Water - the Birth of Punk Attitude

Year Zero have announced Kris Needs Presents ... Dirty Water: the Birth of Punk Attitude for 6 December. The two-disc set pulls together all manner of proto-snot rock and obscure screams from the underground, everything from The Stooges and MC5 to Sun Ra and (who the fuck are?) Up and The Silhouettes. Looks good! (We'll be reviewing it over on The Music Fix)

Monday, 27 September 2010

Stick 'em up: new punk art exhibition

The Haunch of Venison Gallery in London is currently hosting a new exhibition of punk-era artwork from the collection of Toby Mott. The show runs until 30 October.

Haunch of Venison website

Wednesday, 22 September 2010

The Jam - Sound Affects 30th anniversary deluxe edition

A 30th anniversary edition of Sound Affects has been announced for release on 1 November.

The set includes eight previously unreleased tracks, as detailed below:

Disc 2 - Bonus tracks:

1. Start! (single version)

2. Liza Radley (b-side of Start!)

3. Dreams Of Children (b-side of Going Underground)

4. That's Entertainment (alternate version from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')

5. Pretty Green ('demo with overdubs' - previously unreleased)

6. Pop Art Poem (Jam fan club flexi-disc, from 'Extras')

7. Rain (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')

8. Boy About Town (demo - previously unreleased)

9. Dream Time (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation')

10. Dead End Street (demo from 'Direction, Reaction, Creation'

11. But I'm Different Now (demo from 'Extras')

12. Scrape Away (instrumental version - previously unreleased)

13. Start! (demo - previously unreleased)

14. Liza Radley (demo from 'Extras')

15. And Your Bird Can Sing (demo from 'Extras')

16. Monday (alternate version - previously unreleased)

17. Get Yourself Together (from 'Extras')

18. Set The House Ablaze (alternate 'dub ending' version - previously unreleased)

19. Boy About Town (alternate version - Jam fan club flexi from 'Extras')

20. No One In The World (demo from 'Extras')

21. 'Instrumental' (demo - previously unreleased)

22. Waterloo Sunset (demo - previously unreleased)

The discs are accompanied by a 24 page booklet that includes a new interview with Paul Weller and a host of period memorabilia and photographs.

Tuesday, 14 September 2010

Please kill me: Iggy re-issued

I'm not sure it's ever been truly out of print, but Iggy Pop & James Williamson's Kill City is getting a brush and polish courtesy of Alive Records on 6 December 2010. Re-mixed and re-mastered by Pop and Williamson, the CD comes with a 24 page booklet while vinyl fans are catered for with an edition in clear green vinyl.

Kill City features demo tracks recorded in 1975 as the duo sought a new recording contract. Williamson re-mixed and re-recorded some of the material for its eventual release in 1977 on the back of Pop's new-found notoriety.

The new version will be released in the USA via Bomp in October.

California Dreamin' ...

Cool news from Domino who are releasing Black Hole, a compilation of Californian punk from 1976-80. Compiled by Jon Savage, the album will be released on CD (WIGCD264) and download on 15 November 2010.


1 – The Germs - Forming
2 – The Dils - I Hate The Rich
3 – The Screamers - Peer Pressure
4 – Crime - Murder By Guitar
5 – The Zeros – WIMP
6 – The Avengers - We Are The One
7 – The Consumers - Anti Anti Anti
8 – The Randoms - A-B-C-D
9 – Black Randy and the Metro Squad - - Trouble at the Cup
10 – The Alleycats - Nothing Means Nothing
11 – The Weirdos - Solitary Confinement
12 – The Zeros – Beat Your Heart Out
13 – X – We’re Desperate Anymore
14 – The Offs – 624803
15 – The Sleepers – Seventh World
16 – The Middle Class – Situations
17 – The Bags – Survive
18 – The Germs – Media Blitz
19 – The Middle Class – Love Is Just a Tool
20 – The Flesheaters – Pony Dress
21 – Urinals – Black Hole
22 – The Aurora Pushups – Victims of Terrorism
23 – The Avengers – The American In Me
24 - The Dead Kennedys – California Uber Alles
25 – The Dils – The Sound of the Rain
26 – The Sleepers – Los Gatos

From the sleevenotes: " ... the music contained herein needs no further justification than the fact that it rocks; that it contains ideas, tunes, anti-establishment rants, sharp comments about the world, attempts at transcendent and plenty of savage wit. Because it has remained an open secret, it hasn't become a cliche and so sounds as fresh as the day it was recorded."